Lloyd Sowell Memorial Golf Tournament

Blessed with good weather, the 32nd Lloyd Sowell Memorial Golf Scramble was both a sporting and financial success for the Memphis Amateur Sports Hall of Fame.  Credit goes to General Chairman Steve Ganong and his volunteer golf committee. The support and assistance of PGA Professional Sean McFetridge and his staff at The Links at Galloway was invaluable.

Financial success would not have been possible without strong support of sponsors Love Worth Finding Ministries, Jason’s Deli, McAlister’s Deli, SuperLo Foods, Shelby Electric, Frida’s Restaurant, Stix Restaurant, Michelle Agnew State Farm Agency, Town Village at Audubon Park and over 50 company and individual tee sign sponsors.

Special thanks go out to HOF members Larry Hilbun, Jan Averwater, Linda Street, Steve Wynette and Glenn Greenwell for their exceptionable contribution to the success of the tourney.

Thirty (30) four-person teams, including eight (8) first-time entrants, competed for three places in three flights, plus closest to the pin and straightest drive prizes.

3 Putters a Driver
Bartlett Eagles
Bartlett Parks
Booker Boys
Grace Construction
Harty Boys
IBEW Local 474
Memphis Tourism
Mid South Electric
Po-Men #1
Po Men #2
Premier Safety
Select Wealth #1
Select Wealth #2
Speros Ballers
Standard Electric
Stoney River
Team BO
Team Clark
Team Hopkins
Team McCulley
Team McDonald
Team McNamee
The Scramblers
The Wedgies
Town Villages
Walla Bears
Zero for $

The Lloyd Sowell Memorial Golf Tournament is currently the only fundraiser the Hall of Fame. For the last several years we have had no major sponsors for our organization, so this gives the golf tournament increased significance. All profits from this event help fund the Annual Induction Banquet. We cannot thank our sponsors enough for contributing to the success of the tournament and the banquet.

Since 1970, people like you have generously helped the Memphis Amateur Sports Hall of Fame recognize deserving candidates for induction into this prestigious organization. The Hall of Fame also participates in community outreach programs that promote athletics in the Memphis Metropolitan area. In addition, the Hall of Fame awards scholarships to deserving student/athletes at our annual awards banquet.

2023 Golf Team Winners

Champion Flight

Grand Champions
Team BO
(Score 51, -19)

  • Bo Reynolds, HOF Member
  • J.C. Reynolds
  • Will Taylor
  • C. Kelly

Second Place
Team Clark
(Score 54, -16)

  • Ron Clark
  • Craig Jackson
  • Steve Macy
  • Kent Holt

Third Place
3 Drivers and a Putter
(Score 55, -15)

  • Don Palmer, HOF Member
  • Jimmy Muncher
  • Jim Gately
  • Mike Gately

First Flight

Stoney River
(Score 58, -12)

  • Christen Boyd
  • Nick Aylward
  • Mark Womack
  • Greg Vanucci

Second Place
The Weggies
(Score 58, -12)

  • Glen Stewart, HOF Member
  • Pat Walker
  • Jim Arnold
  • Lawson Thornton

Third Place
Team McDonald
(Score 59, -11)

  • Greg Chapman
  • Sam Chapman
  • Nathan Craft
  • Mark Sherman

Second Flight

Team McCulley
(Score 62, -8)

  • Charlie McCulley
  • Debbie McCulley, HOF Member
  • Steve Sinn
  • Teresa Sinn

Second Place
Memphis Tourism
(Score 62, -8)

  • J.J. Greer
  • Greg Gaston Jr.
  • Rob Berger
  • Jared Houston

Third Place
Lowrie Electric
(Score 63, -7)

  • Wayne Lowrie
  • Brad Osborne
  • Taylor Osborne
  • Chris Lowrie

Special Awards

Closest to the Pin

  • Greg Vanucci – Stoney River
  • Jeff Hauss – The Scramblers
  • John Medlock – The Scramblers
  • Taylor Osborne – Lowrie Electric
  • Maurice LeVan – Grace Construction

Straightest Drive

  • Mike Gately – 3 Drivers and a Putter